At a glance

Duration
8 days
Cost
$2795
Arrival Airport
Marrakech (RAK)
Grade
river grade
Air Temp
22 °C (72 °F)
Water Temp
16 °C (61 °F)
Camping
4 nights
Hotel
3 nights

Overview


Morocco is the perfect destination for a very relaxed, week-long, family-friendly rafting holiday. Set in the magnificent Middle Atlas mountain range, the Ahansel river flows down from the peaks and runs deep through a dramatic river gorge. Rafting in this scenery you’ll feel like you are starring in a movie. The beauty of this river trip, is that all the family can enjoy the experience and have a real adventure together in this remote, intoxicating location. It is the perfect antidote to those winter blues with warm weather and stunning scenery. Explore the mystical city of Marrakech, get lost in the souqs and marvel at the snake charmers. Morocco will delight you in so many ways.

Other trips similar to this you may be interested in, are our Deserts & Rivers Adventure.

Gallery


{"slide_to_show":"1","slide_to_scroll":"1","autoplay":"true","autoplay_speed":"3000","fade":"false","speed":"300","arrows":"true","dots":"false","loop":"true","nav_slide_column":"5","rtl":"false"}
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image
Slider Nav Image

Destination Map & Video


What you will be up to


1

Arrive in Marrakech where you will be greeted by a member of our team. Tonight we will dine in the city’s famous square, the Djeema el Fna,  before retiring to your hotel for the night.

Included: Dinner

2

Gorgeous drive to the heart of the Atlas mountains. Views are stunning and we camp beneath a mountain similar to half dome in Yosemite, USA, and watch the sun set.

Included: All meals

3

Wholesome breakfast, thorough safety and paddle briefings from our expert team, then paddle down through some of the gorgeous scenery on this river.

Included: All meals

4

Bouncy technical rapids, like “Wee Stinky” , now that your confidence is growing. You will enjoy chatting about the day’s action in the evening around the campfire. You will nod off with just the sound of the river in the back ground, at our great camp for the evening amongst cedar trees!

Included: All meals

5

With crystal clear water, the fun rapids are punctuated by a relaxing lunch and then “Cheeky Little Monkey” rapid to end our day on the river!

Included: All meals

6

Fun rapids and two stunning gorges before we meet our boat which tows us across lake Bin El Ouidane, where we’ll relax at our luxurious lakeside hotel for the night.

Included: All meals

7

We drive back to town where you can spend a day exploring Marrakech, shopping, sightseeing or trying a range of activities. Truly a great fun place for the whole family. Overnight Hotel.

Included: Breakfast

8

Fly home. Or choose an extension. Speak to our team.

Included: Breakfast

Speak to a WBN Advisor


UK +44 1709 802 203

USA +1 303 261 8896

Book Trip

Dates & Prices


DatesDuration
Sunday 10 March 2024 - Sunday 17 March 20248 days£1995€2450$2795
Sunday 24 March 2024 - Sunday 31 March 2024FULL£FULL€FULL$FULL
Sunday 31 March 2024 - Sunday 7 April 2024FULL£FULL€FULL$FULL
Sunday 14 April 2024 - Sunday 21 April 20248 days£1995€2450$2795
Sunday 23 March 2025 - Sunday 30 March 20258 days£2295€2695$2995
Sunday 6 April 2025 - Sunday 13 April 20258 days£2295€2695$2995
Sunday 13 April 2025 - Sunday 20 April 20258 days£2295€2695$2995
Sunday 20 April 2025 - Sunday 27 April 20258 days£2295€2695$2995

Flights To Marrakech, Morocco

We suggest that all of our clients from the UK and Europe check out the best deals on Skyscanner which will list all options from your nearest airport. Many “low cost” airlines such as Easyjet have excellent options from London, Edinburgh and Manchester and Ryanair from other airports in the UK. Scheduled flights can be taken with Royal Air Maroc from North America into Casablanca and then connecting flights through to Marrakech (airport code RAK). For U.S. customers, we suggest trying Exito Travel for a competitive quote. Please note to fly in on Day 1 as listed below (anytime) and depart on the last day (anytime). We can of course organise extra nights for you if that gives you cheaper flight options. Please do not book your flights until the trip is CONFIRMED to run by our office.

In order to secure your place just pay your deposit USD $750 per person. Your final trip payment is not due until 100 days before your trip. See our Terms and Conditions for full payment terms.

 

Get in touch & we'll get back to you


What you should bring


We find most of our clients already have what is needed for a river trip. We have broken down the items into what you’ll need on the river and in camp. Each guest will get a dry bag to use for the river trip distributed at your Pre-departure meeting in Marrakech. A short video on the size of this and how to pack your dry bag can be viewed here.  We will send you an equipment list of what you will require for your Moroccan adventure prior to your departure along with a link to our app with further information plus a Water By Nature gift.

Download equipment file

Hidden Morocco rafting reviews


5.0
Rated 5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 4 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Awesome Experience

Rated 5.0 out of 5
7th August 2018

My family and I rafted the Ahanssel River with Water By Nature earlier this year. It was my kids (age seven and nine) first experience of whitewater and they absolutely loved it. We spent two weeks in Morocco travelling and seeing the sights yet both kids say the rafting was easily the best part of our holiday.

From the moment we met up with the rest of the rafting party it was non-stop fun. Despite being strangers, all the families bonded within minutes; helped in no small part by meeting in the much welcome coolness of the pool at Le Meridien hotel, Marrakech. That night the party descended on Djeema-El-Fna to immerse ourselves in the smells, colours and bustle of the souqs before sitting down to a delicious banquet of local dishes in the open-air food market; all the while being serenaded by the highly entertaining vendors.

After a hearty hotel breakfast the following day we boarded our transport for the drive to the Ahanssel; stopping on the way to collect our rafts, safety equipment and supplies for the river. We had an adventurous journey through the mountains with a panoramic lunch spot on the way before pitching our first camp on the banks of the river itself. It was wonderful to wind down and drift to sleep to the sound of the river gurgling past. No electronic devices and no thoughts of work or any ‘to do’ list. Bliss!

The next day the adventure started in earnest with our first day on the water. I’m pleased to say the guides pitched the safety briefing just right. All the important points were covered without scaring the kids, or the grown-ups. Then after double-checking our personal safety equipment they launched the rafts and we were off. The rapids and excitement were soon coming thick and fast. Understandably my kids were a little apprehensive at first but at no time did we feel unsafe and everyone soon relaxed into the thrill of navigating the river under our own steam.

The Ahanssel canyon is stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole rafting experience. From the adrenaline rush of negotiating whitewater rapids to soaking up the beautiful scenery whilst drifting peacefully through flatter sections. From the cooked breakfasts to the lunch buffet to the evening Dutch Oven pizzas and chocolate cake dessert. From the water fights between rafts to the campfire conversations with beverage in hand. From forming strong friendships with our fellow rafters to the guides amusing ‘war stories’.

All too soon we found ourselves at the end of the Ahanssel and cruising across lake Bin El Ouidane to our post rafting accommodation. My kids were sad to come to the end of our raft trip and, were it feasible, would have happily driven back up to the put-in point to do it all again. Thankfully sumptuous dinner celebrations, luxurious beds and an all-you-can-eat breakfast at El Widiane went some way to placating them.

We enjoyed this rafting trip so much and made such good friends with our fellow rafters that we are arranging to meet up again next year on another rafting trip with Water By Nature.

Dave Humpleby

Ready to take the next step


Download a copy of our trip brochure or book your trip online

Book Trip

Similar trips to Hidden Morocco rafting